“Hard coal is blood coal”

Access to the hard coal power plant in Lünen blocked in several places 
Paddling activities and blockades on the Datteln-Hamm Canal

Blockade of the Datteln-Hamm Canal. More pictures here.

Lünen, October 07.10.2023th, 10, 50:XNUMX a.m – Activists from the anti-coal network Still burning Today, paddling and climbing activities are blocking the hard coal supply chain in North Rhine-Westphalia in several places. The blockades on the Datteln-Hamm Canal, on the access to the Trianel coal-fired power plant in Lünen and in the harbor basin there are directed against the serious human rights violations in the mining regions. The power plant only burns imported hard coal, which is mined in northern Colombia, among other places.

“We demand an immediate phase-out of coal because hard coal is blood coal. Hard coal destroys the livelihoods of people in mining regions around the world. In countries like Colombia, resistance can cost not only freedom but also life. With our actions we are joining the courageous fight of the people in the mining areas.”, says Lara Eckert, spokesperson for Still Burning.

Hard coal, most of which will be imported to Germany from Colombia, will be burned in the Lünen power plant until 2038. There, coal mining is accompanied by violent displacement by paramilitaries, environmental damage and health problems for residents due to air and water poisoning. 

“We call on the German federal government to take responsibility for the social consequences of its hard coal imports. Every day that Germany continues to import hard coal, the hunger, the malnutrition of our children and the extreme poverty in our territory are increasing, this must stop! At the same time, anyone who stands up against this injustice is imprisoned or killed. Through the import of hard coal, Germany bears responsibility for the expulsions and murders in our territory.”says the human rights activist Narlis Guzman Angulo, a resident of the Colombian province of Cesar.

Most recently, the traffic light government expanded hard coal imports from Colombia after it wanted to forego coal imports from Russia in the wake of the war of aggression against Ukraine.

“I would like the German Chancellor to tell me what would happen if 40 German children died every year from respiratory diseases due to coal dust in their lungs caused by foreign coal mining. Because that is exactly what is happening to the children of the indigenous Yukpa nation. The irrationality and racism of German politics, which is completely archaic and backward, imposes on the people of the Global South something that they would certainly not accept in their own territory.”, So Juan Pablo Gutierrez, Yukpa indigenous delegate involved in the action.

The groups involved in the protest of the anti-coal network Still Burning are: Lützi leben, Ende Gelaende, Last Generation, Sugar in the Tank, AusgeCO2hlt, Kappen met Kolen (Netherlands), Aufbaumen, Mujeres Guerreras (Colombia), Somos Yukpa (Colombia) .

Press representatives are invited to get an idea of ​​the actions on site. The Coordinates of the info point near the action locations are:
51.61405, 7.4555 Stummhafen Lünen


Contact and further information:

e-mail[email protected]
Press contact on site: 0163 3393 487

Twittertwitter.com/stillburningnet
Instagram: @stillburningnet

Website: stillburning.net

Check out Still Burning's flickr account Photos of current and past actions: www.flickr.com/photos/184829975@N06/

“Steinkohle ist Blutkohle”

Zufahrt zum Steinkohlekraftwerk in Lünen an mehreren Stellen blockiert 
Paddelaktionen und Blockaden auf dem Datteln-Hamm-Kanal

Blockade des Datteln-Hamm-Kanals. Weitere Bilder hier.

LĂĽnen, 07.10.2023, 10:50 – Aktivist:innen von dem Anti-Steinkohle-Netzwerk Still Burning blockieren heute mit Paddel- und Kletteraktionen an mehreren Stellen die Steinkohlelieferkette in Nordrhein-Westphalen. Die Blockaden am Datteln-Hamm-Kanal, an der Zufahrt zum Trianel Kohlekraftwerk LĂĽnen und im dortigen Hafenbecken richten sich gegen die gravierenden Menschenrechtsverletzungen in den Bergbauregionen. Das Kraftwerk verheizt ausschlieĂźlich importierte Steinkohle, die unter anderem im Norden Kolumbiens abgebaut wird.

“Wir fordern den sofortigen Kohleausstieg, weil Steinkohle Blutkohle ist. Steinkohle zerstört die Lebensgrundlage der Menschen in den Bergbauregionen rund um den Globus. In Staaten wie Kolumbien kann Widerstand nicht nur die Freiheit, sondern auch das Leben kosten. Mit unseren Aktionen schlieĂźen wir uns dem mutigen Kampf der Menschen in den Abbaugebieten an”, sagt Lara Eckert, Pressesprecherin von Still Burning.

Noch bis 2038 soll im Kraftwerk Lünen Steinkohle verbrannt werden, die zum großen Teil aus Kolumbien nach Deutschland importiert wird. Dort geht der Kohleabbau mit gewaltvollen Vertreibungen durch Paramilitärs, Umweltschäden und gesundheitlichen Belastungen für Anwohner:innen durch Luft- und Gewässervergiftung einher. 

“Wir fordern die deutsche Bundesregierung dazu auf, Verantwortung fĂĽr die sozialen Folgen ihres Steinkohleimports zu ĂĽbernehmen. Jeden Tag, den Deutschland weiter Steinkohle importiert, werden der Hunger, die Unterernährung unserer Kinder und die extreme Armut in unserem Territorium größer, das muss aufhören! Gleichzeitig werden alle, die gegen diese Ungerechtigkeit aufstehen, eingesperrt oder umgebracht. Deutschland trägt durch den Steinkohleimport Verantwortung fĂĽr die Vertreibungen und Morde in unserem Territorium.”, sagt die Menschenrechtsaktivistin Narlis Guzman Angulo, Anwohnerin aus der kolumbianischen Provinz Cesar.

Zuletzt hatte die Ampelregierung die Steinkohleimporte aus Kolumbien ausgeweitet, nachdem man im Zuge des Angriffskrieges auf die Ukraine auf Kohleimporte aus Russland verzichten wollte.

“Ich möchte, dass der deutsche Bundeskanzler mir sagt, was passieren wĂĽrde, wenn 40 deutsche Kinder jährlich an Atemwegserkrankungen aufgrund von Kohlestaub in ihren Lungen sterben wĂĽrden, ausgelöst durch ausländischen Kohleabbau. Denn genau das passiert mit den Kindern der indigenen Yukpa-Nation. Die Irrationalität und der Rassismus der deutschen Politik, die völlig archaisch und rĂĽckständig ist, zwingt der Bevölkerung des Globalen SĂĽdens etwas auf, was sie in ihrem eigenen Territorium sicher nicht akzeptieren wĂĽrden”, so Juan Pablo Gutierrez, Delegierter der indigenen Yukpa, der an der Aktion beteiligt ist.

Am Protest des Anti-Steinkohle-Netzwerks Still Burning beteiligt sind die Gruppen: Lützi lebt, Ende Gelände, Letzte Generation, Zucker im Tank, AusgeCO2hlt, Kappen met Kolen (Niederlande), Aufbäumen, Mujeres Guerreras (Kolumbien), Somos Yukpa (Kolumbien).

Pressevertreter:innen sind eingeladen, sich vor Ort ein Bild von den Aktionen zu machen. Die Koordinaten des Infopunktes nahe der Aktionsstandorte lauten:
51.61405, 7.4555 Stummhafen LĂĽnen


Kontakt und weitere Informationen:

E-Mail: [email protected]
Pressekontakt vor Ort: 0163 3393 487

Twitter: twitter.com/stillburningnet
Instagram: @stillburningnet

Website: stillburning.net

Auf dem flickr-Account von Still Burning finden Sie Fotos von aktuellen und vergangenen Aktionen: www.flickr.com/photos/184829975@N06/