Appeal decision before the Karlsruhe Higher Regional Court

21.02.2024, 7: 30 – After a 1,5-hour hearing, the first oral decision by a higher regional court on the Last Generation protests was issued yesterday. After an acquittal in Freiburg in autumn 2022, the public prosecutor's office appealed. The court decided: The Freiburg district court must hear again. However, the Higher Regional Court did not reject possible acquittals in this and similar proceedings. The process was watched with great interest and was accompanied by a vigil, solidarity supporters, and a subsequent protest march.

A supporter of the Last Generation campaigned for a food-saving law at three road blockades in Freiburg in February 2022. He was acquitted for this in November 2022. “The purpose of making drivers aware of the daily traffic burden caused by rush-hour traffic and CO2 emissions has a direct material connection to the blockade […]”, the judge at the time explained his decision. [1]

Since the public prosecutor's office had appealed against the verdict, the case was heard today at the Higher Regional Court in Karlsruhe. The verdict was eagerly awaited: people from Berlin, Leipzig, Stuttgart, Freiburg, Rhine-Neckar, Darmstadt, Ulm, Konstanz and Karlsruhe gathered in front of the Karlsruhe Higher Regional Court from 9 a.m. to support the defendant. The trial began with music, singing and introductory speeches from supporters of the Last Generation, the Legal Aid Association RAZ eViG. and Amnesty International accompanied. The media interest was great.

After about 1,5 hours, the judges announced their decision: The entire case will be referred back to the Freiburg district court. The public prosecutor's appeal was upheld and additional findings should be made on the effects of the individual blockades.

Prof. Dr. Yeast flour, Professor of Criminology and Criminal Law at the University of Freiburg, explains the verdict: “The decision of the Karlsruhe Higher Regional Court is neither trend-setting nor wise. It is not even prepared to show its colors and to continue the jurisprudence on the so-called sit-ins, which is increasingly perceived as absurd. She simply shrugs off responsibility. The hope: In the second attempt, another department of the Freiburg AG would kindly decide like the majority of the district courts.”. [2]

Zoe Ruge, managing director of RAZ eViG, who defended the acquittal before the Freiburg district court, made a similar statement: “Today the Higher Regional Court failed to position itself clearly and deal with the background of the blockades. Instead of asking in detail the question of how Art. 20A GG (protection of all our livelihoods) and Art. 8 GG (freedom of assembly) relate to one another, it went into detail about the impossibility of making a decision due to missing information.

Although the intended purpose was to 'establish an evaluative relationship', a political assessment of the content of the protest would then not be in order. This is disappointing as there would have been an opportunity to honor a vibrant civil society here today.”


Afterwards, the court explained to the press that this no rejection of possible acquittals but only corrections are necessary for a substantive decision.

In the afternoon, 50 supporters of the Last Generation took part in an announced two-hour protest march through Karlsruhe city center. The defendant stated at the final rally: “The protest must continue: in courtrooms, with the responsible politicians and at the places of destruction. For the future of all of us, for more justice”!

[1] openjur.de/u/2461049.html
[2] strafrecht-online.org/archiv/artikel/2024/2/20/directional-wise-decision-real

Revisionsentscheidung vor dem Oberlandesgericht Karlsruhe

21.02.2024, 7:30 – Nach 1,5-stĂĽndiger Verhandlung erging gestern die erste mĂĽndliche Entscheidung eines Oberlandesgerichts zu den Protesten der Letzten Generation. Die Staatsanwaltschaft war nach einem Freispruch im Herbst 2022 in Freiburg in Revision gegangen. Das Gericht entschied: Das Amtsgericht Freiburg muss erneut verhandeln. Möglichen FreisprĂĽchen in diesem und ähnlichen Verfahren erteilte das OLG jedoch keine Absage. Der Prozess wurde mit groĂźem Interesse beobachtet und von einer Mahnwache, solidarischen UnterstĂĽtzer:innen, und anschlieĂźendem Protestmarsch begleitet.

Ein UnterstĂĽtzer der Letzten Generation hatte sich im Februar 2022 an drei StraĂźenblockaden in Freiburg fĂĽr ein Essen-Retten-Gesetz eingesetzt. DafĂĽr wurde er im November 2022 freigesprochen. “Der Zweck, den Autofahrern direkt die tägliche Verkehrsbelastung durch den Berufsverkehr und den CO2-AusstoĂź vor Augen zu fĂĽhren, weist einen direkten Sachbezug zur Blockade […] auf”,  begrĂĽndete der damalige Richter seine Entscheidung. [1]

Da die Staatsanwaltschaft gegen das Urteil Revision eingelegt hatte, wurde heute vor dem Oberlandesgericht in Karlsruhe verhandelt. Das Urteil wurde mit Spannung erwartet: Menschen aus Berlin, Leipzig, Stuttgart, Freiburg, Rhein-Neckar, Darmstadt, Ulm, Konstanz und Karlsruhe haben sich ab 9 Uhr vor dem OLG Karlsruhe versammelt, um dem Angeklagten beizustehen. Der Prozessbeginn wurde durch Musik, Gesang und einführende Wortbeiträgen von Unterstützer:innen der Letzten Generation, dem Rechtshilfe-Verein RAZ e.V.i.G. und Amnesty International begleitet. Das mediale Interesse war groß.

Nach circa 1,5 Stunden verkündeten die Richter:innen ihre Entscheidung: Der gesamte Fall wird an das Amtsgericht Freiburg zurückverwiesen. Der Revision der Staatsanwaltschaft wurde stattgegeben und es sollen ergänzende Feststellungen zu den Auswirkungen der einzelnen Blockaden getroffen werden.

Prof. Dr. Hefendehl, Professor fĂĽr Kriminologie und Strafrecht an der Universität Freiburg, erklärt zum Urteil: “Die Entscheidung des OLG Karlsruhe ist weder richtungsweisend noch weise. Sie zeigt sich nicht einmal bereit, Farbe zu bekennen und die zunehmend als abwegig empfundene Rechtssprechung zu den sog. Sitzblockaden fortzuschreiben. Sie schiebt einfach die Verantwortung von sich. Die Hoffnung: Möge eine andere Abteilung des AG Freiburg im zweiten Versuch gefälligst so entscheiden wie das Gros der Amtsgerichte”. [2]

Zoe Ruge, GeschäftsfĂĽhrerin vom RAZ e.V.i.G., die den Freispruch vor dem Amtsgericht Freiburg verteidigte, äuĂźerte sich ähnlich: “Das OLG hat es heute verpasst sich eindeutig zu positionieren und sich inhaltlich mit dem Hintergrund der Blockaden zu beschäftigen. Anstatt sich ausfĂĽhrlich die Frage zu stellen, in welchem Verhältnis Art. 20A GG (Schutz unser aller Lebensgrundlagen), und Art. 8 GG (Versammlungsfreiheit) zueinander verhalten, ging es ausfĂĽhrlich auf die Unmöglichkeit einer Entscheidung aufgrund fehlender Angaben ein.

Zwar sei der verfolgte Zweck ‘bewertend in Beziehung zu setzen’, aber eine politische Bewertung der Protestinhalte wäre dann doch nicht in Ordnung. Das ist enttäuschend, da es heute hier die Möglichkeit gehabt hätte, eine lebendige Zivilgesellschaft zu wĂĽrdigen.”


Im Nachgang erklärte das Gericht vor der Presse, dass dies keine Absage an mögliche Freisprüche sei, sondern allein Korrekturen notwendig sind für eine inhaltliche Entscheidung.

Am Nachmittag beteiligten sich 50 UnterstĂĽtzer:innen der Letzten Generation an einem angekĂĽndigten, zweistĂĽndigem Protestmarsch durch die Karlsruher Innenstadt. Der Angeklagte erklärte auf der Abschlusskundgebung: “Der Protest muss weitergehen: In Gerichtssälen, bei den verantwortlichen Politiker:innen und an den Orten der Zerstörung. FĂĽr unser aller Zukunft, fĂĽr mehr Gerechtigkeit”!

[1] openjur.de/u/2461049.html
[2] strafrecht-online.org/archiv/artikel/2024/2/20/richtungsweisende-entscheidung-wirklich