Police officers hand over open letter to Olaf Scholz

– Tension between
Legality and Legitimacy –

Last Generation supporters read out the signatories' statements (c) Last Generation

Berlin, June 20.9.2023, 14, 25:XNUMX a.m – Supporters of the last generation handed over fifty letters of the same content to Federal Chancellor Olaf Scholz at the Federal Chancellery today. The letters were signed by 50 people in the police profession. 

In it they ask the Federal Chancellor to take seriously the criticism of social movements and also the police officers' concerns about the impending climate collapse “to adequately address the climate catastrophe in every respect”. People with a professional background in the police from all state and federal police departments signed. 

 They write in theirs Letter to Chancellor Scholz:
“We notice that the call for climate protection from all areas of society is becoming louder and louder. Children and young people are skipping school on Fridays for the climate, people are choosing not to have children, experienced adults are quitting their jobs, young people are abandoning their education to block roads, dig up golf courses and flag private jets. Protests for climate protection are increasing.”

You explain:
“The protest is already taking its toll on us police officers. Immense financial and human resources are required. Because of our job, as police officers we will always be the first to be exposed to growing social tensions in the future. These will continue to rise as the dynamism and consequences of the climate catastrophe increase - this worries us very much. For police officers, this means an increasing deterioration in working conditions and a strain on shoulders and souls.” [1]

Before the letter was handed over, some of the signatories explained in front of the Chancellery why they signed the letter and reported on their everyday lives. Some of the statements were read out by other people because the authors feared professional difficulties if they declared themselves publicly.

Here is an excerpt from one of these texts: 
“The police uniform I wear today does not mask the worries and fears that plague me when I think about the legacy we leave behind for future generations. It eats away at me as a father and as a person. 

We are preparing for a future that already seems alarmingly real. For me, the clearance of the Hambach Forest, measures against peaceful protesters and pushbacks at intra-European borders are examples of the instrumentalization of the police in connection with the political failures in climate and environmental protection. Events like these shake me deeply and leave me in a dilemma. 

I feel obliged to protect every single person and the livelihoods of future generations, but the aim of police operations on behalf of large corporations and lobbies is more and more contradictory to the values ​​of our free, democratic basic order. At the same time, the necessary and urgent commitment to climate and environmental protection is being blocked; the government is breaking the constitution, and those who stand up for our constitution are criminalized and denounced - and police officers are used as stooges. This is a worrying development.”


Chiara Malt, federal police officer and coordinator of the police network of the last generation, explains: “Both supporters of the last generation and police officers are fundamentally justice-sensitive people who are committed to preserving and further developing our democracy. Nevertheless, a great area of ​​tension arises between the police on the side of legality and climate activism on the side of legitimacy. The federal government bears responsibility. If she doesn’t act, the gap between law and justice will continue to grow.”


[1] You can find the complete letter in the appendix and at the following link: letztegeneration.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/07/2022_07_13_Brief-Olaf-Scholz.pdf


For Questions and original tones please contact: [email protected]

Polizist:innen ├╝bergeben offenen Brief an Olaf Scholz

ÔÇô Spannungsfeld zwischen
Legalit├Ąt und Legitimit├Ąt ÔÇô

Unterst├╝tzer:innen der Letzten Generation verlesen die Erkl├Ąrungen der Unterzeichner:innen (c) Letzte Generation

Berlin, 20.9.2023, 14:25 – Unterst├╝tzer:innen der Letzten Generation haben heute am Bundeskanzleramt f├╝nfzig Briefe gleichen Inhalts an Bundeskanzler Olaf Scholz ├╝bergeben. Die Briefe wurden von 50 Menschen im Polizeiberuf unterschrieben. 

Darin bitten sie den Bundeskanzler, die Kritik gesellschaftlicher Bewegungen und auch die Sorgen der Polizist:innen um den drohenden Klimakollaps ernst zu nehmen und “der Klimakatastrophe in jeder Hinsicht angemessen zu begegnen”. Unterschrieben haben Menschen mit beruflichem Hintergrund bei der Polizei aus allen Landes- und Bundespolizeien. 

 Sie schreiben in ihrem Brief an Bundeskanzler Scholz:
“Wir stellen fest, dass der Ruf nach Klimaschutz aus allen Bereichen der Gesellschaft immer lauter wird. Kinder und Jugendliche schw├Ąnzten freitags f├╝r das Klima die Schule, Menschen entscheiden sich gegen das Kinderkriegen, erfahrene Erwachsene k├╝ndigen ihre Berufe, junge Menschen brechen ihre Ausbildung ab, um Stra├čen zu blockieren, Golfpl├Ątze umzugraben und Privatjets zu markieren. Der Protest f├╝r Klimaschutz nimmt zu.”

Sie erkl├Ąren:
“Der Protest fordert uns Polizistinnen und Polizisten bereits jetzt. Immense finanzielle und personelle Ressourcen werden beansprucht. Von Berufs wegen sind wir als Polizistinnen und Polizisten auch zuk├╝nftig wachsenden gesellschaftlichen Spannungen immer zuerst ausgesetzt. Diese werden mit zunehmender Dynamik und Konsequenzen der Klimakatastrophe weiter steigen – das beunruhigt uns sehr. F├╝r Polizist:innen bedeutet dies eine zunehmende Verschlechterung der Arbeitsbedingungen, Belastungen f├╝r Schultern und Seelen.” [1]

Bevor der Brief ├╝bergeben wurde, erkl├Ąrten einige der Unterzeichner:innen vor dem Kanzleramt, warum sie den Brief unterschrieben haben und berichteten aus ihrem Alltag. Einige der Erkl├Ąrungen wurden stellvertretend von anderen Personen verlesen, weil die Verfasser:innen berufliche Schwierigkeiten f├╝rchten, wenn sie sich ├Âffentlich erkl├Ąren.

Hier ein Auszug aus einem dieser Texte: 
ÔÇťDie Polizeiuniform, die ich heute trage, maskiert gleichzeitig nicht die Sorgen und ├ängste, die mich plagen, wenn ich an das Erbe denke, das wir f├╝r die kommenden Generationen hinterlassen. Es nagt an mir als Vater und als Mensch. 

Wir r├╝sten uns f├╝r eine Zukunft, die bereits alarmierend real scheint. Die R├Ąumung des Hambacher Forstes, Ma├čnahmen gegen friedlich Protestierende und Pushbacks an innereurop├Ąischen Grenzen sind f├╝r mich Beispiele f├╝r die Instrumentalisierung der Polizei im Zusammenhang mit den politischen Vers├Ąumnissen beim Klima- und Umweltschutz. Ereignisse wie diese ersch├╝ttern mich zutiefst und hinterlassen mich in einem Dilemma. 

Ich f├╝hle mich dazu verpflichtet, jeden einzelnen Menschen und die Lebensgrundlagen zuk├╝nftiger Generationen zu sch├╝tzen, aber das Ziel polizeilicher Eins├Ątze zugunsten von Gro├čkonzernen und Lobbys steht jeden Tag mehr im Widerspruch zu den Werten unserer freiheitlich-demokratischen Grundordnung. Gleichzeitig wird der notwendige und dringende Einsatz f├╝r den Klima- und Umweltschutz blockiert; die Regierung bricht die Verfassung, und diejenigen, die f├╝r unsere Verfassung einstehen, werden kriminalisiert und denunziert – und Polizist:innen halten daf├╝r als Handlanger her. Das ist eine besorgniserregende Entwicklung.ÔÇŁ


Chiara Malz, Bundespolizistin und Koordinatorin der Polizeivernetzung der Letzten Generation, erkl├Ąrt dazu: ÔÇťSowohl bei Unterst├╝tzer:innen der Letzten Generation als auch bei Polizist:innen handelt es sich grunds├Ątzlich um gerechtigkeitssensible Menschen, die sich f├╝r den Erhalt und die Fortentwicklung unserer Demokratie einsetzen. Trotzdem entsteht ein gro├čes Spannungsfeld zwischen der Polizei auf der Seite der Legalit├Ąt und dem Klimaaktivismus auf der Seite der Legitimit├Ąt. Die Verantwortung tr├Ągt die Bundesregierung. Handelt sie nicht, wird der Graben zwischen Recht und Gerechtigkeit immer gr├Â├čer.ÔÇŁ


[1] Den kompletten Brief finden Sie im Anhang und unter folgendem Link: letztegeneration.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/07/2022_07_13_Brief-Olaf-Scholz.pdf


F├╝r R├╝ckfragen und O-T├Âne wenden Sie sich bitte an: [email protected]