Indictments regarding the criminal organization will come in the fall

– Neuruppin public prosecutor’s office uses “sniffing paragraph” –

Supporters of the last generation have been demonstrating against the application of §7.30 since 129:XNUMX a.m. this morning. More pictures here.

Berlin, October 09.10.2023th, 8.25, XNUMX:XNUMX a.m – The case against the Last Generation for forming a criminal organization reaches the next stage. 

The Neuruppin public prosecutor's office intends to bring charges against the Last Generation by the end of 2023. This is what the responsible public prosecutor Gregorian told one of our lawyers in a telephone conversation. The accused should be given the opportunity to comment in October and the trial will then begin.

Large parts of the files are now piled up on our lawyers' desks: thousands of pages about the last generation, a total of 30 GB of PDF documents, divided into 89 folders with numerous subfolders. All protests that have ever taken place in Brandenburg can be found here. When you skim through the pages, you read about a hundred different names - including people who just picked up their friends from the police station.

While the so-called “sniffing paragraph” [1] was generally used in social movements in the past as a pure investigative tool [2], it is now about intimidating civil society. [3] It is the first time that Paragraph 129 has been used against the climate movement.

Legal scholar Dr. Andre Bohn classifies this alarming development: “The planned indictment is a new kind of escalation against political participation in civil society and opens the door to even more restrictive policies. This is not about the last generation, but about the democratic rights of all of us.”

The consequences of the investigation alone are significant: raids in the early hours of the morning, wiretapping, location surveillance - and not just against last generation supporters. Journalists were also affected by telephone surveillance, and two companies that had only printed flyers and delivered demo material for Fridays for Future were searched. Reporters Without Borders (RSF), the Society for Civil Rights (GFF), the affected companies and Fridays for Future are suing against the measures. [4],[5]

It is shocking how Section 129 is applied here. The state is constructing an opportunity to use all means possible to criminalize those who advocate for more climate protection or even just support others in doing so. [6]

Our democracy only works with the energy and ideas of civil society. In the midst of many crises, we and numerous other movements remind the government to respect its own laws. At the moment, supporters of the last generation are once again blocking the streets in Berlin and making it clear that things cannot continue like this. 

The answers to their commitment are such investigations and now a foreseeable indictment. What kind of sign is this to all citizens who are involved in civil society?

Sources
[1] Explanation of the snooping paragraph at ZEIT online.
[2] There were numerous investigations against them Anti-nuclear movement (pp. 9-11), the anti-genetic engineering movement G8 protests in 2007 and also corresponding demands in Mutlangen (peace movement). As a rule, such proceedings required serious offenses (arson, attempted endangerment of human life, etc.) and most proceedings were dropped.
[3] The intimidation of civil society occurs, among other things, through mechanisms that Referred to in law as “chilling effects”. (section “Intimidation and deterrence”).
[4] Reporters Without Borders takes action against surveillance.
[5] The mirror above Action against Fridays for Future.
[6] See Section 129 of the Criminal Code.

Anklage zur kriminellen Vereinigung kommt im Herbst

– Staatsanwaltschaft Neuruppin setzt „Schnüffel-Paragraph“ ein –

UnterstĂĽtzer:innen der Letzten Generation demonstrieren heute Morgen seit 7.30 Uhr gegen die Anwendung des §129. Weitere Bilder hier.

Berlin, 09.10.2023, 8.25 Uhr â€“ Das Verfahren gegen die Letzte Generation wegen Bildung einer kriminellen Vereinigung erreicht die nächste Stufe. 

Die Staatsanwaltschaft Neuruppin beabsichtigt, bis Ende 2023 Anklage gegen die Letzte Generation zu erheben. So teilte es die zuständige Staatsanwältin Gregorian in einem Telefonat einem unserer Rechtsanwälte mit. Im Oktober solle den Beschuldigten die Möglichkeit zur Stellungnahme gegeben werden, dann werde man den Prozess eröffnen.

Auf den Schreibtischen unserer Anwält:innen stapeln sich inzwischen große Teile der Akten: tausende Seiten über die Letzte Generation, insgesamt 30 GB PDF-Dokumente, unterteilt in 89 Ordner mit etlichen Unterordnern. Sämtliche Proteste, die je in Brandenburg stattgefunden haben, finden sich hier wieder. Beim Überfliegen der Seiten liest man von rund einhundert verschiedenen Namen – auch von Menschen, die nur ihre Freunde von der Polizeistation abgeholt haben.

Während der sogenannte „Schnüffel-Paragraph“ [1] in der Vergangenheit bei sozialen Bewegungen in der Regel als reines Ermittlungsinstrument eingesetzt wurde [2], geht es nun um die Einschüchterung der Zivilgesellschaft. [3] Es ist das erste Mal, dass Paragraph 129 gegen die Klimabewegung angewendet wird.

Rechtswissenschaftler Dr. André Bohn ordnet diese alarmierende Entwicklung ein: „Die geplante Anklage ist eine neuartige Eskalation gegen politische Teilhabe der Zivilgesellschaft und öffnet noch restriktiverer Politik Tür und Tor. Es geht hier nicht um die Letzte Generation, sondern um unser aller demokratische Rechte.“

Allein die Konsequenzen der Ermittlungen sind erheblich: Razzien in den frühen Morgenstunden, Abhörmaßnahmen, Standortüberwachung – und das nicht nur gegen Unterstützer:innen der Letzten Generation. Auch Journalist:innen waren von der Telefonüberwachung betroffen, und zwei Unternehmen, die für Fridays for Future lediglich Flyer gedruckt und Demo-Material geliefert hatten, wurden durchsucht. Reporter ohne Grenzen (RSF), die Gesellschaft für Freiheitsrechte (GFF), die betroffenen Unternehmen und Fridays for Future klagen gegen die Maßnahmen. [4],[5]

Es ist erschreckend, wie § 129 hier angewendet wird. Der Staat konstruiert sich eine Möglichkeit, all diejenigen, die sich für mehr Klimaschutz einsetzen oder gar nur andere dabei unterstützen, mit allen Mitteln zu kriminalisieren. [6]

Unsere Demokratie funktioniert nur mit der Energie und den Ideen der Zivilgesellschaft. Inmitten vieler Krisen erinnern wir und zahlreiche andere Bewegungen die Regierung daran, ihre eigenen Gesetze einzuhalten. Auch zur Stunde blockieren in Berlin wieder UnterstĂĽtzer:innen der Letzten Generation die StraĂźen und machen klar, dass es so nicht weitergehen kann. 

Die Antworten auf ihr Engagement sind solche Ermittlungen und nun eine absehbare Anklageerhebung. Was ist das fĂĽr ein Zeichen an alle BĂĽrger:innen, die sich zivilgesellschaftlich engagieren?

Quellen
[1] Erklärung zum Schnüffel-Paragraph bei ZEIT online.
[2] Es gab zahlreiche Ermittlungen gegen die Anti-AKW-Bewegung (S. 9-11), die Anti-Gentechnik-Bewegung, bei den G8-Protesten 2007 und auch entsprechende Forderungen in Mutlangen (Friedensbewegung). I.d.R. brauchte es für solche Verfahren schwere Delikte (Brandstiftung, versuchte Gefährdung von Menschenleben usw.) und die meisten Verfahren wurden eingestellt.
[3] Die Einschüchterung der Zivilgesellschaft erfolgt u.a. durch Mechanismen, die in der Rechtswissenschaft als „chilling effects“ bezeichnet werden (Abschnitt „Einschüchterung und Abschreckung“).
[4] Reporter ohne Grenzen geht gegen Ăśberwachung vor.
[5] Der Spiegel ĂĽber Vorgehen gegen Fridays for Future.
[6] Siehe §129 StGB.